Metrics to Track to Reach Google Ads Goals
Now Alpine Peaks Dentistry has its SMART goals chosen for its Google Ads; they can begin to track data to determine if these goals are being reached. The metrics we’ll talk about below aren’t marketing jargon; they’re a granular way to measure the success of your goals.
Click-Through Rate (CTR)
Click-through rate is how many people who see your ad click on it. It’s that simple. In the case of Alpine Peaks Dentistry, they could have a Google ad advertising oral appliance therapy or TMJ treatment. Their CTR on that ad will help them to know if they’re:
- Increasing new patient inquiries (if the call to action is “Call” or “Schedule an Appointment” button)
- Driving awareness and engagement (the more clicks, the more you know people are engaged)
- Improving the performance of their ad copy and targeting (click-through rate tells you if your ad copy is relevant to your audience).
Conversion Rate (CR)
Conversion rate is the percentage of users who have taken the desired action. So, let’s say that Alpine Peaks Dentistry has an ad that leads patients to a landing page for TMJ treatment. The user lands on that page and then calls to schedule an appointment. That would be a conversion. The CR on their Google ads helps them to know at what rate they’ve:
- Increased New Patient Inquiries: A higher conversion rate means a greater percentage of website visitors or ad viewers are taking the desired action, such as submitting an inquiry form or calling the dental practice.
- Promoted TMJ Treatment: A higher conversion rate for ads promoting this specific service indicates that a larger percentage of ad viewers are interested in and converting to that particular service.
- Maximized Return on Investment (ROI): A higher conversion rate directly impacts the ROI of Google Ads campaigns.
Cost Per Click (CPC) and Cost Per Conversion (CPCo)
Cost per click is the amount of money Google charges for the click on your ad. This is determined by dividing how much you’ve spent by the number of times your campaign was clicked on. Cost per conversion is the amount of money Google charges for an ad conversion. This is determined by dividing your total spend by the number of conversions (or people who have completed your desired action.)
In the case of Alpine Peaks Dental, the CPC and CPCo help them know if they’ve:
- Optimized the efficiency of Google Ads campaigns: The lower the cost per click and cost per conversion, the better your ads are targeted. If you have high numbers in these metrics, you can discern that perhaps you aren’t targeting the correct audience or have the right ad messaging.
- Increased the overall ROI: The lower these metrics are, the higher your overall ROI! Let’s say your cost per conversion is $250, and you got 10 conversions that ended in a booked appointment. The amount spent minus the revenue from the treatment is your ROI.
Return On Investment (ROI)
Speaking of ROI, this is the amount of money left over as profit after you’ve paid for the acquisition of your new patient.
ROI can help Alpine Peaks determine if they reach their sixth goal of increasing the overall ROI from Google Ads campaigns by aiming for a 20% increase in revenue generated from ad-driven conversions by July 2024.
Quality Score (QS)
Now, that last one was probably a gimmie. But quality score may be a new term for you. Quality score is a diagnostic measure indicating the quality of your ad compared to other advertisers. In other words, your QS can tell you if you’re optimized your ads correctly. And this can get pretty granular the further you look into it, going down to the quality of specific keywords.
QS helps Alpine Peaks Dentistry to know if they’re on track for reaching their goal of optimizing the efficiency of their Google Ads campaigns and improving the performance of ad copy.